Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


Every year, the Power of Nursing Leadership program recognizes exceptional individuals for leadership and mentorship. You are invited to nominate an exemplary nurse for one or more of these prestigious awards.

Review the award opportunities and nominating process below Heading link


1. Identify which award you wish to submit a nomination for:

  • Joan L. Shaver Outstanding Illinois Nurse Leader
    The purpose of this award is to honor a nurse who has demonstrated the commitment and dedication necessary to serve the health care needs of the people of Illinois through supremely skilled leadership and the courage to break through barriers.
  • SAGE Award (Significant, Advisor, Guide, Enlightenment)
    The SAGE Award spotlights a nurse leader who has demonstrated significant mentorship to advance the Illinois nurse leaders of tomorrow.
  • Advancing Health Equity Award
    This award acknowledges a nurse who has accomplished a significant body of work that has reduced health disparities by improving the health of populations disproportionately affected by social determinants of health.
  • Early Career Leader Award
    The purpose of this award is to recognize an Illinois nurse with less than 10 years of professional nursing experience who exhibits exemplary leadership in the nursing profession within their organization or the community.

2. Solicit letters of support

A minimum of two (2) and no more than four (4) letters of support are required, each highlighting the key achievements of the nominee as it relates to the award for which you are nominating them. Letters need to be in PDF format in order to be submitted.

3. Gather the following information before submitting the nomination form:

  • Nominee full name
  • Nominee organization
  • Nominee title
  • Nominee credentials
  • Nominee email
  • Total number of years the nominee has been a nurse.

4. Submit the nomination!

NOMINATIONS ARE DUE AUGUST 9, 2024, at 12 p.m. CT.


The Power of Nursing Leadership Host Committee is responsible for reviewing all nominations and selecting recipients.